Fevers

I love electro-pop. I am not sure if it is because it reminds me so much of the ’80’s, or if it’s because all songs feature my two favourite genres – techno and indie. Whatever the reason, I love it – and the Ottawa based Electro-pop/Alt-pop band Fevers gives me yet another reason to love this genre. Fevers is really something impressive, with interesting beats and beautiful vocals, they will certainly keep you coming back for more. I can’t wait to see more of these awesome artists as they take Canada and the world by storm with their upcoming full-length record!

I have a lot of respect for artists the Electro-pop world because Electro-pop is a difficult sound to nail down, especially just starting out, but man did they get it right. Their sound conjures all kinds of images of MGMT, LCD Soundsystem and the Naked and Famous. Their single “Passion is Dead (Long Live Fashion)” is simply awesome. I can picture this being the perfect soundtrack to a mash-up video of various people at the beach, or for a long drive in a classic convertible on a warm summer day. I think what I love most about this band is that they have a ton of music out there, and while you can see a gradual progression and intensity of their music as they move towards some of their newer stuff, none of it disappoints. I find so often with Electro-pop groups is that it’s really hard to mix all of the aspects of the music together and expect it to hold up on the finished product, but Fevers has definitely managed to mix everything up and present it in a beautifully catchy package. They have such a wide variety of sound in their songs it’s impossible not to want to hear more and more. Their song “Sort it Out” is sweet and beautiful focus on the lead singers vocals, while their track “Remixes” is edgy and much more electric with a focus on the beats. Their main track “Passion is Dead” (linked above) is just downright fun, showcasing everything that is great about this band.

This 5 piece band released their first EP, the Passion is Dead in 2011 (which you can get your hands on from their bandcamp site, here) and have exploded onto the Ottawa music scene since. Their music has taken them to the big stage in Ottawa, and in 2012 alone they played Bluesfest, the Capital Pride festival, JUNOfest, and the Festival de l’Outaouais Émergent – that is an amazing line up for a band that just put out their first EP in 2011!

Alright, so here’s the part where I tell you all about how you can hook up with this amazing band. You can check them out this weekend at the Black Sheep Inn when they take the stage with the Goodluck Assembly. As I have already mentioned, you lucky folks have heard about them just in time to enjoy only a short wait until their first full length record is released in May 2013. And, probably the luckiest thing of all (for me at least) they will be playing Ottawa’s Bluesfest on my birthday! Happy Birthday to me! Be sure to check out all the great music they have posted on Soundcloud, and on their YouTube channel, and be sure to check out their award winning music video for “Passion is Dead.” You can hook up with these amazingly talented artists on their Facebook page, and be sure to keep your eyes peeled to their website for more information about upcoming shows! Whatever you do, just make sure you show these Ottawa natives some love!

